Author Topic: Ford says he will not challenge Alexander for Senate  (Read 1206 times)

Amianthus

• Bring on the flames...
    • View Profile
    • Mario's Home Page
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Ford says he will not challenge Alexander for Senate
« on: January 26, 2007, 07:40:19 AM »
Thursday, January 25, 2007

WASHINGTON (CNN) -- Former Rep. Harold Ford Jr., the Tennessee Democrat who lost a close race for Senate last November, told CNN Thursday he has no plans to seek Tennessee's other Senate seat in 2008.

Ford, the new head of the Democratic Leadership Council, said he will not mount a campaign against Republican Sen. Lamar Alexander for the seat but would instead focus on his new positions as head of the DLC and as a professor at Vanderbilt University.

"My plan is right away to try to do a good job with the DLC," Ford told CNN's Wolf Blitzer. "I'm proud to say that I'm associated with Vanderbilt University; I'm now a professor of public policy."

"I'm young and God has worked with me this far, and I've just got a good feeling that things will work out in the future," Ford added.

-- CNN Ticker Producer Alexander Mooney

Article
Do not anticipate trouble, or worry about what may never happen. Keep in the sunlight. (Benjamin Franklin)

_JS

• Salaires legers. Chars lourds.
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
Re: Ford says he will not challenge Alexander for Senate
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2007, 12:49:05 PM »
Not surprising.

Alexander is a moderate Republican in many regards. He voted against some of Bush's anti-environmental plans ("Clear Skies" and "Healthy Forests" I think).

Plus, Alexander is popular in this state. Once you achieve popularity and are a beloved statesman in Tennessee, you generally have your job for a very long time, no matter to which party you belong. It is difficult to explain, but Alexander certainly has it. Howard Baker and Ned McWherter had it as well. I don't think Frist does and I doubt that Corker ever will. Bredesen very well might.